Book Read in July: The Gift by Cecelia Ahern

You can probably tell by now that I have been reading more recently! The first book I finished reading this month is The Gift by Cecelia Ahern.

You have heard of Cecelia Ahern for her famous novel-turned-movie P.S. I Love You. I have read the book and to be honest, I was not impressed. The concept was refreshing however I just found the emotion was not real enough. It was all too light and fluffy for me. That was at least my first reading impression, maybe it will change if I read it for second time I am not sure.

Oh I have not seen the movie, and goodness gracious Hillary Swank was Holly! She made me cry non-stop in Million Dollar Baby, I just can’t imagine her playing a chick-lit character.

A lil’ throwback:

Back to the topic. The Gift was a gift from my colleague who accidentally bought the same book when she already had one. I didn’t read it immediately because I was quite bored of chick-lit at that point, hence I kept it until last month I started the read. It took about a month for me to finish reading not because I was extremely slow (305 pages a month is really tortoise speed), it was because I was so lost in the first half of the book and I just could not bring myself to continue the next page. Sounds like a horrible book doesn’t it? To do some justice to it I have this tendency of stopping in middle of books (it happened to my all-time-favourite Jane Eyre too). If it is a book worth my attention I would definitely finish the story. So I finished the second half of the book in just one day when I got the hang and gist of it.

The Gift by Cecelia Ahern: Book Cover Looks like a Gift

The Gift by Cecelia Ahern: Book Cover Looks like a Gift

The Gift is not a book for vacation. I tried reading it during my last vacation and I failed to even finish a chapter. It is not the usual chick-lit that is always silly and funny. It is a book that causes you to question. I could see more maturity of the author in the book and I could only appreciate the plot that the author weaved gently in the end of the story. The unexpected twist gave me a good clench in my heart and made me really think about my life and text the people I love message. I think that was what Cecelia Ahern wanted in this book.

The main character in this book Lou Suffern is not an adorable man. He is the typical superficial high achiever in the office you might meet. Self-centered, ambitious, charming, womanising and aloof. His journey is what you would follow if you decide to pick up this book to read, however it is definitely a rewarding one if you could stand his mannerism until the end. I can’t quite relate to the Irish setting in the book but I could when it talks about the balance between work and family. I think many office workers could too. Blackberry, emails, meetings, calls, boss, oh and jealousy! To add some spice you see office affairs as well. The other important character in this book is Gabe, he turned Lou’s comfortable life upside down but his identity remains suspicious.

All in all, the plot is though lopsided, it is salvaged by its short story. It is not a MUST READ book but it is still a nice weekend book. Not heavy but not lighthearted either. It serves as a good reminder to all the value of time.

“Time can’t be given. But it can be shared” – Cecelia Ahern, The Gift

Leave a Reply

