Saudade

I just came across a beautiful Brazilian song titled ‘Saudade Fez Um Samba’ which led me to find out the meaning of the word ‘saudade’, to my surprise there is no direct translation in English to this word. It means ‘a feeling of nostalgic longing for something or someone that one was fond of and which is lost, it often carries a fatalist tone and a repressed knowledge that the object of longing might really never return.’ (source: http://forum.wordreference.com/showthread.php?t=1113084)

Saudade is inevitable in life. Fond memories of a lost love, childhood, places you used to visit and someone you love who have passed away could lead to saudade, then followed by a sigh. The pain might be mild, but the scar is deep, and the void is bottomless.

I have such feeling very often this recently due to certain major incidents happened in my life, and I tend to be attracted to songs that could sing my emotions out. So here I share the songs that stroke my heart gently when I have saudade, but too often cause a much stronger feeling after I listen to them:

However, saudade is always the source of inspiration. It inspires artist, musicians, writers and people like you and me. At least it inspires me to write about it on my blog, but more than that, it inspires me to take charge of my life, count my blessings and appreciate the present, as today might be the ‘saudade’ tomorrow.

So enjoy the wonderful Brazilian song by Marissa, if you have had rocky days, may it soothe your heart:

Leave a Reply

