Old-Fashioned Love

“I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you — especially when you are near me, as now: it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame. And if that boisterous channel, and two hundred miles or so of land come broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will snapt; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly.”

 

This is perhaps the most beautiful confession of affection a man made to a woman I have ever come across, from the all time favourite classic – Jane Eyre. I read the book when I was a teenage girl, I was totally fascinated by the romance. After I completed the novel, I would always flip to the page when Jane and Mr Rochester first confessed their feelings to each other and, it never failed to make me feel the slight tingling warmth in my belly whenever I read it.

 

I thought, someday I will meet a man and he will confess to me like this (despite Mr Rochester being the weirdest fictional lover ever).

Face to face, eyes meeting eyes, with some poetic passionate proclamation of love, best done under the moonlight, that would be perfect!

 

However it seems things are rather different now.

 

 

Well, everything has to be fast now! If that can be done through SMS or Facebook or whatever app, we should make full use of the technology! All the guy needs to do is to send a message to the girl and the girl replies ‘ok’ or otherwise. Save effort, save time, save face.

 

We are in a fast moving century. I just finished reading a chick lit novel and the protagonist knows her date’s feeling towards her not because he tells her verbally, but because he removes her shirt and caresses her and so on. That is real quick I think, and that is how people perceive relationship nowadays!

 

I have to admit I tried to be modern but I can’t, I am a typical old-fashioned person when it comes to relationship. I still prefer the old way that simmers slowly, so I could have time and mood to enjoy its fragrance.

Leave a Reply

